Inter touched the sky on May 22, 2010 at the Estadio Santiago Bernabeu, as they won their third Champions League title with a 2-0 win over Bayern Munich.

Diego Milito’s brace put 45 years of hurt to bed and saw Jose Mourinho’s side end the campaign with an historic treble: the Scudetto, the Coppa Italia and the Champions League. But with the Portuguese’s exit the following year to Real Madrid, something broke.

A Supercoppa Italiana, a Club World Cup – the latter won thanks to the success of the previous season – and a Coppa Italia are the only trophies that the Nerazzurri have brought home since then.

None of Rafa Benitez, Leonardo, Gian Piero Gasperini, Claudoi Ranieri, Andrea Stramaccioni, Walter Mazzarri, Roberto Mancini, Frank de Boer, Stefano Vecchi (twice), Stefano Pioli, Luciano Spalletti or Antonio Conte have succeeded in conquering Europe. None of them have won Serie A either.

Inter haven’t even been past the group stage of the Champions League since the 2010/11 campaign, when they lost to Marseille in the round of 16. Continue reading

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *