The National Identification Office (ONI)'s new kiosk in Tabarre, Port-au-Prince. Photo credit: Juno7

ID kiosk for diaspora opens at Port-au-Prince airport

The National Identification Office (ONI)’s new kiosk in Tabarre, Port-au-Prince. Photo credit: Juno7

Haiti’s National Identification Office (ONI) and the Ministry of Haitians Living Abroad (MHAVE) have set up an identification card kiosk at Toussaint Louverture International Airport in Tabarre, Port-au-Prince. The small office will serve mainly Haitian diasporas.

“Our compatriots in the diaspora who arrive from abroad and want to obtain a Unique National Identification Card (CINU) can go to the kiosk of the MHAVE at Toussaint Louverture Airport to obtain this document,” MHAVE said in a press release.

Earlier this year, ONI announced that it would phase out the Haitian ID card long in circulation and no longer accept it as valid. To obtain the new national ID card, Haitians living abroad must provide either a birth certificate, extract from the National Archives of Haiti or baptism certificate. Source

Groups reject call for Haiti to speed up elections prep

Andre Michel, an opposition leader, speaking at an event. Photo credit: Juno7

A band of political and watchdog group have condemned another group’s Nov. 25 statement urging Haiti’s government to speed up 2021 elections preparations.

Among the groups that signed the latest statement are Fusion, Inite, Verite, and Veye Yo. They said it’s not an appropriate time to hold elections because of violence in the country. They also said that those who keep pressing Haiti to hold elections will be to blame if the outcome is disastrous. Source

Twelve public figures honored in annual ceremony

The twelve public figures honored by l’Association en Route vers la Technique (ETECH) posing for a picture. Photo credit: Juno7

A national recognition association has honored twelve public figures during its eighth annual ‘Honor and Merit’ celebration Wednesday.

L’Association en Route vers la Technique (ETECH) selected: Jean Wilfrid Bertrand, the general director of National Archives, meteroist Marie Chrisnette Saint-Georges, Dadie Pierre, Jean Rénald Jeune, Marie Rosana Jean, Amos Cincir, Reverend Josué Mathieu, Reverend Alcéro Marc Arthur, Rénold Telfort, Kerline Mingot Gard, Jean Joseph Baltazar and Karine-Emmanuelle Sanon.

They were selected based on the quality of their work, commitment and engagement with their communities, particularly the youth, said Ruben Sanon, ETECH’s president. Source

Email me at
Onz Chery is a Haiti correspondent for The Haitian Times. Chery started his journalism career as a City College of New York student with The Campus. He later wrote for First Touch, local soccer leagues in New York and Elite Sports New York before joining The Haitian Times in 2019.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply