Haitian-Americans were on ballots across Florida and New York state as in the 2020 Elections. Here are the winners and losers in those state and local races.

By Larisa Karr

Scores of Haitian-American candidates were on ballots across the country to represent their communities, mostly in Florida and New York. Here are the results of their elections.

These are the latest results as of Nov. 9. We will update it as more results become available.




State Legislature Races

Dotie Joseph, Florida House District 108 (WON)

Joseph ran unopposed for her 108th District in Miami-Dade County.

This is her second term in the Florida House of Representatives, where she serves on the Energy & Utilities, Higher Education Appropriations, Collective Bargaining, and Local Administration Subcommittees.


Marie Woodson, Florida House District 101 (WON)

Woodson ran against Republican Vincent Parlatore for the 101st District in Southeast Broward County. She won by 74.07% (51,222) compared to Parlatore’s 25.93% (17,935).

This will be Woodson’s first term in the Florida House of Representatives. Prior to running for office, the Port-de-Paix, Haiti native worked as a public administrator for Miami-Dade County for over 30 years, retiring in 2018.


Nancy St. Clair, Florida House District 92 (LOST)

St. Clair, who ran nonpartisan, lost to Democrat Patricia Hawkins-Williams for the 92nd House District representing Northeast Broward County. Hawkins-Williams received 81.17% of the vote (49,496), while St. Clair garnered 18.83% (11,485).

St. Clair is currently in law school at Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale.


Local Races

Gepsie Metellus, Miami-Dade County Commission (LOST)

Metellus ran non-partisan for County Commissioner in Miami-Dade’s District 3, losing to Keon Hardemon, who ran non-partisan as well. Metellus received 33.28% of the vote (21,970), compared to Hardemon’s 66.72% (44,037 votes).

She is the co-founder and executive director of Sant La Neighborhood Center, a social service organization serving Haitian immigrants in South Florida.


Linda Julien, Miami Gardens Council (WON)

Julien ran non-partisan for Seat 5 on the Miami Gardens City Council. She received 56.75% of the vote (27,124), compared to incumbent Andre Williams, who received 43.25% (20,673 votes). 

She is the Economic Development Manager for the City of North Miami. 


Nadia Assad, Lauderhill Commissioner (LOST)

Assad finished last in the race for the Seat 3 Commissioner in the city of Lauderhill. She received 27.69% of the vote (7,814), compared to Ray Martin’s 38.43% (10,845 votes) and Kelly Davis’ 33.87% (9,558 votes).

She works as an administration assistant for the City of Fort Lauderdale.


Nancy Metayer, Coral Springs Commissioner (WON)

Metayer ran non-partisan for District 3 of the Coral Springs City Commission, beating five other candidates to win 32.36% of the vote (19,177).

A Coral Springs resident for over 20 years, she works as a statewide coalition manager for NEO Philanthropy, a nonprofit organization focusing on social justice movements.


Daniela Jean (WON), Ketley Joachim (LOST) and Raphael Dube (LOST), North Miami Beach Group 3 Commissioner

Jean, an author and risk management specialist for the City of North Miami, received 33.57% of the vote (4,971) for Seat 3 of North Miami Beach Group 3 Commissioner. She defeated Margaret “Margie” Love in a runoff on Nov. 17, winning 59 percent of the vote.

Joachim, a community advocate residing in North Miami Beach, won 13.98% (2,070). Dube, a mortgage loan originator, finished with 12.40% of the vote (1,836).

McKenzie Fleurimond (WON), Liliya Spektor (LOST), North Miami Beach Group 5 Commissioner

Fleurimond has received 70.02% of the votes to Spektor’s 29.98% to stay in the Group 5 seat.

Michael Joseph (WON), Antonio Ortega (LOST), North Miami Beach Group 7 Commissioner

Joseph has received 64.87% of the votes to fend off challenger Ortega, who received 35.13% of the vote. Joseph will remain in the Group 7 seat.




Congressional Race

Constantin Jean-Pierre, 9th Congressional District (LOST)

Republican Jean-Pierre lost to Yvette Clarke, who has served in the position since 2013. Jean-Pierre received 17.6% (36,847 votes) to Clarke’s 81.5% (170,898 votes). Overall, 209,692 votes were cast in the Brooklyn district.

He has worked for the New York City Department of Correction, as well as coaching youth sports.


State Legislature Race

Kimberly Jean-Pierre, New York State Assembly District 11 (WON)

Jean-Pierre, a Democrat, successfully won a 4th term representing New York State’s Assembly District 11 in Suffolk County. She received 50.98% of the vote (23,123). Her Republican challenger, Eugene Murray, received 40.45% (18,345).

Jean-Pierre chairs the Subcommittee on Banking in Underserved Communities.


Michaelle C. Solages, New York State Assembly District 22 (WON)

Solages, a Democrat, will be entering her fifth term as Assembly Member representing District 22 in Nassau County. She received 60.29% of the vote (33,747). Her Republican challenger Nicholas Zacchea received 31.35% (17,546) of ballots cast in the race.

In the Assembly, Solages chairs the Black, Puerto Rican, Hispanic and Asian Legislative Caucus.


Clyde Vanel, New York State Assembly District 33 (WON)

Vanel, who ran unopposed, will be serving his third term in the state assembly representing District 33 in southeast Queens. He received 85.48% of ballots cast.

Vanel currently chairs the Subcommittee on Internet and New Technology in the Assembly.


Rodneyse Bichotte, New York State Assembly District 42 (WON)

Bichotte, who has been serving in the New York State Assembly since 2015, ran unopposed for District 42 in Central Brooklyn. She received 85.95% of ballots cast.

She chairs the Subcommittee on the Oversight of Minority and Women-Owned Businesses (MWBE) in the State Assembly.


Mathylde Frontus, New York State Assembly District 46 (WON)

Frontus, the Democratic incumbent, was initially behind Republican Mark Szuszkiewicz in the race for Assembly District 46 in south Brooklyn. On Nov. 3, it was reported that Szuszkiewicz received 17,842 votes compared to Frontus’ 15,030 votes. On Nov. 19, it was announced she was in the lead by 483 votes. She surpassed Szuszkiewicz after election officials finished counting 9,000 absentee ballots.

Prior to serving in the Assembly, Frontus was the executive director of Urban Neighborhood Services, a social service organization in Coney Island providing services for youth.


Phara Souffrant Forrest, New York State Assembly District 57 (WON)

Forrest beat incumbent Walter T. Mosley for District 57, which covers the areas of Fort Greene, Clinton Hill, and Prospect Heights in Brooklyn. She won 74.4% of the vote (31,857), compared to Mosley’s 25.6% (10,973 votes).

She is a nurse, tenant activist and a member of the Democratic Socialists of America.


Know of another race featuring a Haitian-American candidate to include? Email the candidate’s name and race details to haitiantimes99@gmail.com.

Larisa is a reporter for The Haitian Times covering politics, elections and education primarily. A graduate of the Craig Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY, she has interned at CNBC and the Balkan Investigative Reporting Network. She is also a recipient of a 2021 DBEI Fellowship by Investigative Reporters & Editors. Larisa can be reached by email at larisa@haitiantimes.com or on Twitter @larisakarr.

Join the Conversation


  1. Daniela Jean did not win Seat 3 in the North Miami Beach, she is in a run-off at this time. You also did not mention Michael Joseph and McKenzie Fleurimond who both won their seats outright.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply