For the second year running in the short history of the Serie A awards, the top prize of Most Valuable Player has been nabbed by a Juventus forward, with a new addition picking up the youth version of the award too.

In the season that the Bianconeri made it an unprecedented nine straight championships, the prize for Player of the Year went to Paulo Dybala. The 26-year-old scored 11 times and picked up 6 assists, often at key points of the season, to underscore his value to Juve.

Last season’s winner of the award was Cristiano Ronaldo and he will be disappointed to have missed out on the title despite scoring 31 times. He was nipped to the Best Forward title by Ciro Immobile of Lazio who scored 36 times to tie Gonzalo Higuain’s record for most goals in one season.

The Best Midfielder award went to Alejandro ‘Papu’ Gomez who inspired his Atalanta side to a second consecutive stellar season, driving La Dea into 3rd spot ahead of Lazio and into the Champions League again next season. Continue reading

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply