Liverpool sealed the Premier League title on Thursday night without kicking a ball, as Manchester City slipped to a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Chelsea.

This has been no ordinary title win. Liverpool have ended their 30-year wait in style, and sent records tumbling in the process.

Here, we look at the amazing new standards Jurgen Klopp’s team have set.


Fastest-ever title win

The coronavirus pandemic may have stopped Liverpool from winning the title in March, which would have been the record for the earliest date it has been achieved, but they couldn’t be prevented from sealing it with the most games to spare.

Liverpool still have seven games to play. The previous best belonged jointly to Everton (1984-85), Manchester City (2017-18) and Manchester United (1907-08, 2000-01), who had five matches remaining.

Liverpool have now won the championship 19 times, only Man United (20) can boast more.

Longest winning run at home

This is a record that used to belong to Liverpool… and still does. Bill Shankly’s side won 21 consecutive games at Anfield through to December 1972.

Klopp’s all-conquering side have already broken that record, with the win over Crystal Palace on Wednesday moving them onto 23 home wins in a row and counting.

Only two other teams came close to matching Shankly’s 21 wins in the interim period — Man United in 2011 (19) and Man City in 2011-12 (20).

Matching Man City’s winning run

In October, Liverpool came so close to equalling Man City’s 18 consecutive top-flight wins, being held to a 1-1 draw at Man United in the 18th game. But they were not to be denied, as they simply started another winning run and matched the 18 in February. But missed out on holding the record on their own following a shock 3-0 reverse at the hands of relegation-threatened Watford.

Beating every team in the division

Liverpool became only the ninth club to beat every other team in the top flight on the way to winning the title. Even the great Liverpool sides of the 1970s and 1980s couldn’t achieve this.

Everton, Man City, Man United and Preston North End have all done it twice, however, so the Reds still have something to aspire to.   Continue reading

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *